WK 7 Activity: Painting

On this week’s activity, WE TOOK IT TO THE STREETS!

Just kidding, but we in a way we did!  We took on the challenge of graffiti ART.  I emphasize the art because graffiti is really art.  We watched a documentary on graffiti and it showed the heart and soul in graffiti.  People use this as an expression against the world of consumerism, and even just blessing the public with free, beautiful art.  It’s just a way to get your own name out there.  With a world ridden with conformity and bland personalities, there has to be a way to speak out against this current zombie apocalypse.  I really like the whole idea behind a spray can and how it can be used to beautify, rather than vandalize.

I was in San Francisco this weekend (best city ever, definitely moving there in the future) so I missed the opportunity of painting on the legal art walls at Venice.  So I opted out for painting on cardboard in my garage.

Although I’m definitely not as talented as regular graffiti artists, I attempted to write my name in graffiti.  Because of lack of space and also a potential name I would write as graffiti, I decided to use my own Korean name. I thought it would be cool to have my name represent my roots and a different culture. I was born in the US and grew up here for 17 years.  I was raised with American ideals and culture. I was never really exposed to too much of the Korean culture.

photo 3 (9)   photo 4 (8)

True story : In kindergarten I didn’t want to tell anyone what my nationality was because I thought Korea was a secret civilization.  I thought all Asians were either Chinese or Japanese. I was really racist…

Anyways, my graffiti didn’t turn out completely as I expected, but I am happy with the result. I used the blue and red to emphasize my Korean and American roots because these two colors are used in both flags. There are so many similarities between the cultures, yet they can be very different. I am so happy to have been raised in the US and still embrace my Korean culture. Even though I can’t speak a lick of Korean, I can successfully pronounce all the names of most Korean foods.

With my terrible American accent and tan skin, I am a proud Korean-American.

Sincerely,
최현아

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

