WK 5 Artist Conversation: I-Tan Wong

Inside the Marilyn Werby Gallery, there was an art exhibit going on called Excess and Access: Juried Student Exhibition.  It was just a group exhibition with a bunch of photographers and their work displayed.  I was really drawn to I-tan Wong’s work.  She had three photographs put together in a line that had the same woman in each picture with something different, whether she was wearing something around her eyes, her face was highlighted and her body completely covered, or with her face covered by googly eyes.  I was definitely comparing the last photo of the woman’s face covered in googly eyes with something I had seen at another exhibit at the Hammer Museum over the summer.  It was a video installation of a cartoon man with eyes all over his body.  He was looking all around his body and seemed like he was relieved to see all of these eyes.  When a light turned on and it seemed like someone was approaching him, he quickly used scissors to jab the eyes out.  He seemed embarrassed or rather ashamed, really, of all these eyes on his body.

I was trying to connect this picture to that video and maybe the first picture tells the story of trying to cover sight or visual aspects.

1

The second one seems like she just has a head.  The whole body is not shown.  It’s trying to cover her body, her sense of touch and physical interaction.

2

But in the last picture, everything seems amplified.  There are more eyes o3n her face and are not being covered up, her body is completely exposed because it seems like she is nude.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first two pictures seem like they’re trying to censor something, or cover up and hide away different assets.  I could be wrong, but that’s what I got from the work.  I tried searching up I-tan Wong’s information online, but I could not find a specific website or her actual statement on this piece.  This is a mystery that I wish I could solve!  I really want to know what this piece means to her and what inspired her to work with such materials.

 

 

 

photo (1)

I-tan Wong’s piece was featured on the exhibit’s flyers!

 

I-tan Wong’s LinkedIn profile:

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/i-tan-wong/8a/8b1/927

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

