WK 4- Artist Conversation- Jeannette Viveros “Utterly Pink”

Drawn in from the pink, furry walls and the hanging hooks that, of course, “hooked” me in.  (Can I get extra points for the terrible puns?)  I loved how the whole room was utilized as the entire piece.  I really enjoy pieces like this that are more interactive.  I actually stood inside the piece.  I could run my fingers through the cotton candy walls and use the sense of touch to relate to the piece, rather than just sight.  I also really loved the name of her artwork, “Utterly Pink”.

I must admit that my first impression of this piece was the Hook episode on Spongebob.  As well as my peers, during the interview we had to ask if that was part of her inspiration.

photo 4 (3)

Jeannette had said that the main point of her pieces revolve around the social expectations of gender.  I then asked her about the juxtaposition of the different textures of the hooks and the furry walls.  She seemed to have paired pain with pleasure or something pointy and dangerous with something soft and cushy.  Jeannette explained that she doesn’t separate the two parts, she saw this whole entire art piece as one collectively.  Each part does not represent something specific, it just has one message.  I really really liked how she said that each part does not have a different meaning to make one.  Nothing represents something different.  I feel like in some art pieces, the artist will explain what each thing represents and how it works altogether, but I believe that art is just sometimes something that feels good and feels right to the piece altogether.  There doesn’t have to be a reason why that hammer is next to that paper plate, it just is because to the artist, that’s how it should look and that’s how it came to be.

Later in the interview, we had to ask her about the correlation with Spongebob and it was proved to be nonexistent.  Turns out, she actually hates Spongebob.

Now that the whole great Spongebob debate has cleared up, here’s some pictures of her really cool art piece:

photo 4 (2)photo 2 (6)photo 1 (7)

Jeanne Viveros had these cool paint samples with the color "Utterly Pink", which was the name of her art piece.

Jeanne Viveros had these cool paint samples with the color “Utterly Pink”, which was the name of her art piece.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

